A Tale of Midsummer

Upon the crossroads; sparkling bright with pale moonlight time stands still

And the past is just a memory fading from view.

The witches of old tis said, merry met with the very devil himself,

Before he journeyed out in his chariot over the moon-bright fields.

The hounds of hell with red eyes shinning crossed over to the Otherworld here

And the longest day just goes on and on and on and the very sun itself is caught in a bright web of liminal space.

It is here sweet love I wait for thee, underneath the Ladies summer perfumed tree.

It is here at midnight I wait as the moon casts a shard of light to pierce my soul.

It is here I will wait and cast my spell in words of ancient tongue.

Here where only the convergence of the tides of time can enchant you to fall under my spell.

I hold my dagger to my heart, my hands steady, words flowing in this ancient tongue I know so well.

My sweet life force I offer thee as a token,

Will you accept?

Sweet force of power that you are, will you come?

Will you meet me upon this midsummer night?

In the distance two dancing hares, two moonlight sprites in the ripening fields.

The energies of the night are entering this realm, slipping through the veil of reality,

I see them, but will you come also?

My blood slowly drips upon the ground as I chant my words.

I light a single candle and offer my precious ruby gift to the flame, gently anointing my forehead.

I become the very gift you need but still will you come?

Will you require more?

What will it take on this midsummer night?

Oh sweet moon of mine, shineth down not upon my soul lest you see me laid bare

Revealed in moonlight upon the shores of time for whom and what I truly am;

Not mortal.

I crave my kin.

Come through the veil sweet love; sweet immortal darkling.

Cast your dark shadow upon my heart;

Leave me not abandoned and alone.

Still my blood drips upon the earth as the crossroads merge into my very being.

As the land becomes the sky

And time stands still

And the still is all.

As the past and future entwine together

I am a part of it as are you

And finally my eyes are clear.

My love I yearn to kiss thine lips upon the delicate rim of midnight

I die a thousand deaths yet live a thousand lifetimes waiting.

Yet you come not

I en-cradle the sweet dark flame of eternity that is forever you

To return next year

Or never….

 

Archangel_Raphael a

moonwillow July 2015

Author: The MidKnight Garden & Midknights Tellings

Follower of the true Old Ways, tutor, writer, poet, photographer, lover of the arts, gigs and theatre. My love for my path and writing is a constant source of joy and inspiration to me.

Leave a Reply

