The Watchers

We have always been here

Have always wandered the earth

Undetected

Some say we exist only in folklore

And we will not argue with that

Tis our safety net

Through the centuries we have watched you

Watched you as you tore yourselves apart

We saw you destroy yourselves

And your planet

But we always loved you

Loved our creations

But we had to let you be

Let you grow

And make your own mistakes

Our children

Naughty children

Every so often

Some of you would grow

Evolve

Rise above the rest

So we took you back

Claimed you as our own once more

Allowing you

Over time to become one of us again

And thus the cycle began again

The Watchers watching over the earth

Just as it always was

Just as it always is

And just as it always will be

We are here watching

Guarding

Over the affairs of men

You know us not

We know you well….

April 30th

 

 

Poet?

Am I a fake when I say I am a poet?

Writing poetry for nigh on 50 years;

Give or take.

So why that novice feeling?

I try and learn my craft

Yet my peers seem so assured and confident

Causing me to trip and fall down that clichéd rabbit hole.

Falling and fake

I am tiny and unseen.

I sip the glass of terror

That hides the secret potion

And shrink Alice-like

Wanting to hide in my own Wonderland.

Yet here I am reading aloud

To a sea of smiling, friendly faces

Greeting me behind Chesire cat-like smiles

I see no bodies, just huge, smiling grins.

What lies behind those smiles I wonder?

If Alice can do it – so can I

I will grow and grow and face the fears inside my head

And make the mad hatter brew me strong back coffee.

Away with his insipid tea!

So then here’s a start; my start

I take my stand

Yes god dam it

I am a poet!

April 29th

 

 

 Free Flying

Floating like a minute speck of dust in a universe of eternity

I suddenly realise how unimportant and tiny I am.

In a vast sea of time that is no time at all,

It just is what it is.

Here on earth life is so fleeting,

I am so fleeting and so transient.

I am the smallest speck in the blink of a vast universal eye.

My human ego wants me to be more,

Yearns to be more.

My journey is just beginning;

Can this be acknowledged I wonder?

By those who ‘see and observe’?

Can I go on?

Can I fully grow outside of the confounds of earthly time?

Do I need to be corporeal to exist?

Do I need to be corporeal to be me?

My thoughts float upon the shore of time;

They float up and away into the deep, deep darkness beyond our Star.

Me in spirit robes.

If I send my thoughts out

Far and wide to anywhere where I choose

Is that me in spirit form?

Can I fly forever free

Or am I always bound by the golden cord that binds?

Who is the real me,

The one within

Or the one without?

I send my thoughts out far and wide

Upon the butterfly wings of cause and effect.

In time I may truly follow

Or maybe in reality I am already in that other world of wonder

Where time, movement and matter do not exist.

Maybe I do fly free

And I always have done

And this reality I know as life

Is me within the world of matter

Taking  a vacation from who I really am.

28th April

 

 

Screaming and Dreaming

There are those times in life when you wonder about life

Those days when there are many more downs than ups

Those days when the needs of others outweigh ones own

Today is one such day

And all one wants is a cuddle

But one keeps silent and maybe a poem or two can do the trick

Can come to ones rescue and let the silent scream escape

To travel upon the winds of the universe

To maybe hitch a ride on the back of a passing angel

On his way to paradise

April 27th

 

 

For all the Animals Trapped…

Think about all the helpless animals crying in the laboratories

Think about their suffering; so many of them die a death of utter pain

For the testing is all useless; the experiments don’t work

They are them; they are not us, their bodies are so different

Their bodies, their systems, do not work like ours

But the Home Office, in its unwisdom degrees this to go on

All this torture, all this blood and all this death

Many other ways of research can now be utilised

Ways of testing all the drugs upon this earth

No longer do we need the cages; the innocents may roam free

All of us are truly beautiful, are gorgeous inside and out

We do not need to torture others to establish this true fact

For beauty comes from deep within, from the centre of our souls

The power to change, the power to love is right within our hands

Medicine has come so far with human tissue cultivated

To be used for us, instead of them, instead of all the torture

In freeing them, we free ourselves to walk as one together

No other species, only human does all this harm to others

Where is the right, where is the Order that we can do all this?

Who gave us all this misplaced power to justify our acts on others?

Be brave, be strong and take a stand; shout the message loud and clear

Love and Light is all we need so set all creatures free.

In future days, in future times; if we ever get to that

What will be the legacy we leave upon these pastures green?

In future times in future worlds the truth it will be told

What is our chapter in the book – it does not look good to me.

Is it too late to change the ways of a species gone to waste?

Who knows – not I, but I live in truth of my own personal philosophy

To spread the word, to heal the hate, to set all creatures free

To live a life of pure intent; to be the best that I can be

For to spill the blood of innocents is not my game and will never, ever be.

April 26th

 

 

Her Spring Gown

Cambridge put on her best spring outfit today

And looked resplendent

A fascinator of fluffy white clouds adorned her hair

Pink blossoms and white draped over her shoulders

Gently cascading to the ground in the gentle breeze

Every footstep lushly echoed the vibrant green

And green velvet moss became each footfall

I wandered in wonder

Opening up my heart

Following her every footstep

I was becoming me again

Floating without care upon a pure blue sky

I was the dancing blossoms in the warm air

Finding me

Finding my song

I was Cambridge in the spring today

And felt resplendent

April 25th

 

 Beauty Deep and Light

Peering out long into the void

Reveals that there is no void

On the outside

 

For the outside is magic

Is beautiful, unending

And stupendous

 

Deep into the darkness

On the out side

Is where the magic and mystery lie

 

It is where the unending truth resides

And where the search for truths begins

It is the quest we long for

 

It is the yearning of the soul

On the darkest night

Calling all home

 

For those who seek the Light

May cross the void

So the void is no more

 

We are starlight and endless

We are above and beyond

All that is know

 

We can go on and on

Until the world is just a speck

A tear in the eye of the multi-verse

 

No the void is not out there

For it is bound by blood

It is the darkness deep within the flesh

April 24th

 

For all the animals...

For all the animals…

